Higher.

Friends, if you’ve made it here—welcome! I’m so excited to get to have you along for this crazy ride that is my life until December. I’ll be traveling to Nepal, Jordan, and Chile, on a comparative Human Rights study abroad, with twenty other students hungry for change. I swore I would never be one to blog and write long-winded posts about myself, but here we are- for a couple reasons.

One is practicality. The places I have the privilege of traveling to in the next few months are not ones where wifi is as easy to come by, so this is a bit easier than sending lots of emails when I do have access to internet.

Two has to do with gratitude. How on earth am I this lucky, to get to gallivant around the world to Nepal, Jordan, and Chile until December. I am so thankful. And so, I want to be able to share this with you. This is my journey and these months- this girl- wouldn’t be the same without you.

A whisper from a most gracious King called me into this journey. By His grace, I get to walk alongside Him these next four months in places I never imagined I would be. To see His creation, and to learn to long for Him more every moment. To know that people matter, and to challenge myself in asking how I respond to that seemingly simple statement.

I heard a song the other day that gave me chills because it sums it up so perfectly: (From You Have Called Me Higher by All Sons & Daughters)

“I could just stay right where I am and hope to feel You
Hope to feel something again

And I could hold on
I could hold on to who I am and never let You
Change me from the inside
And I could be safe
I could be safe here in Your arms and never leave home
Never let these walls down

But You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I’ll go where You will lead me Lord.”

Give it a listen:

Thanks for being here.

Leave a comment